gadvasu guru angad dev ji
The University
Life on Campus
Anti Ragging Squad
Task Force to monitor Womenís safety & Security issues
Contact us
Consortium for E-resources
Faculty Login
User ID :
Password :
You are currently here:  Home  /  News

11 April 2017 - Annual Athletic Meet at Vet Varsity

 The 11th Annual Athletic meet of Guru Angad Dev Veterinary and Animal Sciences University (GADVASU) was held today on 11th, April, 2017. Dr. Satyavan Rampal, Director Student Welfare informed that students of all the three Colleges situated in the GADVASU Campus namely College of Veterinary Science, College of Dairy Science and Technology, College of Fisheries, Veterinary Polytechnic,  Kaljharani (Bathinda) and affiliated Colleges of university i.e Khalsa College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences, Amritsar and Baba Hira Dass Ji College of Veterinary Pharmacy were actively participated in this athletic meet under different disciplines. Dr Amarjit Singh Nanda, Vice-Chancellor, GADVASU inaugurated the meet. After unfurling the flag, Dr Nanda told that GADVASU always promote the spirit of games amongst their students to keep them healthy and in high spirit. Senior retiree alumni members of the varsity also attended the meet with great charm and happiness. The sports torch was being lighted by senior athletes of the university. The meet started with the oath taking ceremony by Simardeep Singh Toor renowned athlete of the university. After inauguration, athlete march was performed. Arshdeep Singh Kailey (boys) and and Guneet Chahal (girls) were declared best athlete. Overall trophy was won by College of veterinary science. Khalsa College of veterinary and animal sciences, Amritsar also performed well. At the prize distribution function Member Legislative Assembly, Punjab, S. Pargat Singh, Padma Shri and former captain of Indian Hockey Team was Chief Guest. He said that Sports improve the health and confidence of students. It promotes good habits and inculcates better values in a person. He gave away the prizes to the winners and told them to do more hard work to excel in their respective fields.S. Hardeep Singh Grewal, Olympian and Dr. Jaswant Singh retired PCS were guest of honour of the athletic meet. Dr. AS Nanda, Vice-Chancellor appreciated the various committee members’ efforts in conducting the successful meet and appreciated the participants. About 225students participated in the meet. Dr. A.P.S. Brar, organising Secretary of athletic meet shared the annual sports report of university. Dr Simrat Sagar Singh, Dean Post Graduate Studies extended thanks to the whole family of GADVASU and congratulated the winners. On this occasion the faculty members, staff members and students of the GADVASU were there to buck up the athletes. PAU faculty and employees were also attended the event to encourage the students. Equestrian events were also performed by the cadets of NCC unit of GADVASU.

100 Mt. (Men)         1. Arshdeep Singh Kailay 2. Alamjit Singh 3.Pranav
110 Mt. Hurdles: (Men)         1. Arshdeep Singh Kailay2. Suraj Tharu 3. Alamjit Singh
Javelin Throw(Men)         1. Alamjit Singh 2. Sanjeev Kumar 3. Avtar Singh Sohi
5,000Mt. (Men)   1. . Akashdeep Singh 2. Siraj Ahmed 3. Gurkarambir Singh
400Mt. Hurdles (Men)  1. Arshdeep Singh Kailay2. Daud Masih 3. Alamjit Singh
Hammer Throw (Men) 1. Harpinder Singh 2. Avtar Singh Sohi 3. Ajaypal Singh
800Mt. (Men)             1. Daud Masih2 Akashdeep Singh3. Siraj Ahmed
Triple Jump (Men)   1. Karamjeet Singh Waraich 2. Arshdeep Singh Kailay 3. Suraj Tharu 
High Jump  (Men)    1. Daud Masih 2. Dilmanpreet Sandhu 3. Jagdev Singh
Shot Put    (Men)      1. Simardeep Singh Toor 2. Avtar Singh Sohi 3. Gurkarambir Singh
Broad Jump (Men)    1. Arshdeep Singh Kailay 2. Karmajit Singh 3. Alamjit Singh
Javelin Throw (women) 1. Guneet Chahal 2. Gulgul Singh 3. Shikha
1500 Mt. (women)        1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita. 3. Shikha
800 Mt. (Women)          1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita 3. Meher Gill
100 Mt. (Women)      1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita 3. Meher Gill
200Mt. (Women)           1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita 3. Meher Gill
Broad Jump (Women)    1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita 3. Shivani
High Jump (Women)1.Guneet Chahal  2. Shivani Chhabra 3. Gulgul singh
Shot Put (Women)    1. Gulgul 2. Meher Gill 3. Shaminder Kaur
Discus Throw (Men)  1. Simardeep Singh Toor 2. Avtar Singh Sohi 3. Alamjit Singh
400 Mt. (Women)      1. Guneet Chahal 2. Ankita 3. Jasmeen Kaur
400 Mt. (Men)   1. Daud Masih 2. Arshdeep Singh Kailay 3. Akashdeep Singh
400 Mt. x 4 (Men)     1. College of Fisheries 2. Veterinary Polytechnic, Kaljharani 3. Khalsa College of veterinary and Animal Sciences
100 Mt. x 4 (Women)  1. College of Veterinary Science2. Khalsa College of Veterinary and Animal Sciences 3. College of Fisheries
1500 Mt. (Men)         1. Daud Masih 2. Akashdeep Singh  3. Sajjanpreet Singh
400 Mt. (Ntt)            1. jatinder Pal Singh 2. Jatinder Pal 3. Sukhdev Singh.

Quick Links
Sign up for Newsletter
Sign up if you wish to receive updates from us

Your Email ID

Photo Gallery